Monthly Archives: February 2017

Robert Lord Cottage applications close April 1st

Robert Lord Cottage


When Robert Lord took up a Burns Fellowship at Otago University in 1987, he bought his first home – a small cottage close to the university and the town centre of Dunedin. His tragically few years in Titan Street were happy and productive ones. Before he died Robert put in place a plan that the cottage would become a home for other writers who choose to come to Dunedin to write and a Trust was established to administer the plan.

Today, as was his plan, Robert Lord’s worker’s cottage (three furnished rooms and a courtyard garden) is run as a rent-free residency for writers.

To date, playwrights who have lived and worked there include Gary Henderson, Renee, Jan Bolwell, Vanessa Rhodes, Vincent O’Sullivan, Branwen Millar, Paul Rothwell, Rochelle Bright and Kip Chapman.

APPLY: apply for the residencies by sending your cv and a statement of the project you propose to work on to Murray Lynch.

Applications are now open for residencies from late August 2017 to early January 2018.
Applications close 1 April annually.

A Flash Fiction sample at the Listener is excellent

Top NZ writers tell tales of departure, arrival and looking back

20 February, 2017

Screen Shot 2017-02-25 at 1.23.28 PM.png

For the rest of this, and pieces by Courtney Sina Meredith, Gina Cole, Ben Young, Ashleigh Young, Lawrence Pratchitt, Renata Hopkins and Airini Beautrais and more, see here.






Entries open for Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award 2017


Friday, 24 February 2017

The judge of the 2017 Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award is prize-winning New Zealand poet and fiction writer Bill Manhire. Manhire has won several New Zealand Book Awards, a number of significant fellowships, and he was the 1997/1998 New Zealand Te Mata Estate Poet Laureate. He was also honoured with the 2007 Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement.

This prestigious biennial poetry award from Landfall and the Kathleen Grattan Trust is for an original collection of poems, or one long poem, by a New Zealand or Pacific permanent resident or citizen.
Individual poems in the collection can have been previously published, but the collection as a whole should be unpublished.

Entries are accepted until 31 July 2017 and must be either received or postmarked by this date. The result will be announced in Landfall 234 (November 2017), and the winner receives $10,000 and a year’s subscription to Landfall. Otago University Press has the right to publish the winning collection.

For full entry details, and to learn more about Kathleen Grattan, please visit the Award Page.

bill manhire

The 2017 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement: pick a NZ poet and nominate now!




Don’t miss your opportunity to nominate your pick of our finest writers for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

Every year New Zealanders are invited to nominate writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the categories of non-fiction, poetry or fiction. $60,000 is awarded in each genre.

New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for the awards.

The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval, with the awards presented in a formal ceremony.

In 2016, Marilyn Duckworth received the award for Fiction, David Eggleton for Poetry and Atholl Anderson for Non-Fiction.

See the full list of winners.
Nominations close on Friday, 7 April at 5pm.

Nominate a writer now.