Entries open for Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award 2017


Friday, 24 February 2017

The judge of the 2017 Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award is prize-winning New Zealand poet and fiction writer Bill Manhire. Manhire has won several New Zealand Book Awards, a number of significant fellowships, and he was the 1997/1998 New Zealand Te Mata Estate Poet Laureate. He was also honoured with the 2007 Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement.

This prestigious biennial poetry award from Landfall and the Kathleen Grattan Trust is for an original collection of poems, or one long poem, by a New Zealand or Pacific permanent resident or citizen.
Individual poems in the collection can have been previously published, but the collection as a whole should be unpublished.

Entries are accepted until 31 July 2017 and must be either received or postmarked by this date. The result will be announced in Landfall 234 (November 2017), and the winner receives $10,000 and a year’s subscription to Landfall. Otago University Press has the right to publish the winning collection.

For full entry details, and to learn more about Kathleen Grattan, please visit the Award Page.

bill manhire

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s