Monthly Archives: January 2019

Warm congratulations to poets on Ockham NZ Book Awards poetry long list



Some of my favourite books from 2019 are here and some of my favourites are not – and that is the way of book awards.

Poetry Award

Edgeland and other Poems by David Eggleton (Otago University Press)

The Farewell Tourist by Alison Glenny (Otago University Press)

Are Friends Electric? by Helen Heath (Victoria University Press)

All of Us by Adrienne Jansen and Carina Gallegos (Landing Press)

There’s No Place Like the Internet in Springtime by Erik Kennedy (Victoria University Press)

The Facts by Therese Lloyd (Victoria University Press)

Winter Eyes by Harry Ricketts (Victoria University Press)

Walking to Jutland Street by Michael Steven (Otago University Press)

Poūkahangatus by Tayi Tibble (Victoria University Press)

Aspiring Daybook: The Diary of Elsie Winslow by Annabel Wilson (Mākaro Press)


The Poetry Award: Bryan Walpert, Airini Beautrais and Karlo Mila.

2019 Sarah Broom Poetry Prize call for submissions


Screen Shot 2019-01-22 at 6.29.05 PM.png



The Sarah Broom Poetry Prize is one of New Zealand’s most valuable poetry prizes and aims to recognise and financially support new work from an emerging or established New Zealand poet. In 2019, the prize is an award of $10,000. Poets are required to submit six to eight poems (at least five unpublished).

The prize was established in 2013 in honour of the New Zealand poet Sarah Broom (1972-2013), the author of Tigers at Awhitu (2010) and Gleam (2013).

Now in its sixth year, the award will be showcased in a special public session at the Auckland Writers Festival in May 2019 where shortlisted poets will read from their work and the winner will be announced. The full Festival programme will be publicly launched on 13 March and will be available in print and online here

Competition entries open on 21 January and close on 28 February 2019

For entries/queries email For more information about the prize and Sarah Broom visit here


2019 Judge: Anne Michaels

Award-winning poet, novelist and essay writer Anne Michaels is Toronto’s current Poet Laureate. Her multiple awards and shortlistings include the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for the Americas, the Orange Prize, the Governor-General’s Award and the Griffin Poetry Prize. Her latest poetry collection All We Saw was published in late 2017.


Michaels, Anne_Marzena_Pogorzaly (1).jpg













Bravo! The Spin Off has a new residency for young writers

Screen Shot 2019-01-22 at 6.02.38 PM.png



Young and emerging writers, rejoice! The dear old Spinoff Review of Books unveils a new writer-in-residence award – open only to those tender of age and prodigious of talent.

Young and emerging writers in New Zealand get a pat on the head now and then, a little bit of praise, limited exposure, sod-all money, and not a lot else – until now. The Spinoff is pleased to announce an annual writer’s residency which is eligible only to writers of tender years and wondrous promise.

The Spinoff Review of Books Writer-in-Residence Award is held in association with the Rise Pop-up Apartments in Wellington. It will be held annually, and the winner shall receive:

  • Accommodation at a cool apartment in downtown Wellington, for about a month, from mid-January to mid-February. The room (worth $275 a week) is gratis, and includes furniture, bedding, ensuite bathroom, kitchenette and weekly cleaning service
  • $400 per week stipend
  • A number of free meals courtesy of Egmont St Eatery and Rogue Burger
  • A nice bunch of flowers and an awesome welcome pack of goodies upon arrival.

The 2020 award will be open to all young and emerging writers. The winner of the inaugural 2019 award has already been chosen, and indeed arrived at the apartment this weekend – the dazzlingly gifted Hamilton writer Aimee-Jane Anderson-O’Connor.

Full details here

Best Small Fictions Seeks Submissions for 2019 Anthology


The Best Small Fictions – an annual series since 2015 – seeks works of short fiction published within the 2018 calendar year for its 2019 anthology. Editors may submit up to five works of short fiction of up to approximately 1000 words. We encourage an eclectic array of styles and approaches. We seek work featuring memorable imagery, characterization, and language. Pieces which exemplify the delicate, deliberate craftsmanship of this short form.

Deadline 01 February 2019.


Series Editor: Nathan Leslie

2019 Guest Editor: Rilla Askew

Assistant Editor: Michelle Elvy

Published by Sonder Press.


For submission guidelines

Pegasus Books Poetry Reading Series 2019


Screen Shot 2019-01-22 at 5.26.52 PM.png


Pegasus Books is thrilled to announce the Pegasus Books Poetry Reading Series 2019. We have an extraordinary lineup of poets from across New Zealand who will be reading their poems in store throughout the year.

Readings are held every 6 weeks on Friday night at 6.30pm. Each reading features four poets.

We kick off on February 8 with:

Airini Beautrais, Maria McMillan, essa ranapiri, Harry Ricketts.

Check out their Facebook page for upcoming events



Screen Shot 2019-01-22 at 5.27.32 PM.png