The Pantograph Punch: Sarah Jane Barnett remembers ten moments in Aotearoa NZ Literature 2016



Sarah Jane Barnett remembers ten moments in Aotearoa NZ Literature 2016, and some of them make her shudder.

During 2016 many things happened: Atholl Anderson, Marilyn Duckworth, and David Eggleton won the Prime Ministers’ Award for Literary Achievement; Jenny Bornholdt finally released a selected works after nine collections and nearly thirty years of publishing her work; there was New Zealand’s first residency at a hotel. None of these made my ten moments of 2016 – a list that I’ve resisted calling ‘top’ – because that’s how strange and outstanding this year has been.

For Sarah’s list of ten moments see here.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s