Arts Foundation Recipients – Congratulations!

Eleven extraordinary New Zealand artists have been chosen as the 2017 recipients of the coveted Laureate and New Generation Awards, Marti Friedlander Photographic Award, Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award and the Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship. The recipients represent classical music, popular music, film, theatre, contemporary dance, poetry, photography and illustration. The recipients will be celebrated at the New Zealand Arts Awards, hosted by ASB at the ASB Waterfront Theatre on Monday 6 November. They will join a family of 191 artists who have received a total of over $6million from the Arts Foundation, thanks to the support of some of New Zealand’s most generous arts patrons.

For 17 years the Arts Foundation has provided New Zealand artists with no-strings attached monetary awards. Artists do not apply for the awards, instead they are selected by a panel independent of Arts Foundation staff and governance. They are called out of the blue with the life-changing news they have been selected. This year six panelists came together to discuss the work of New Zealand’s finest artists and had to make the extraordinarily tough decisions as to who should be the this year’s Laureate and New Generation Award recipients. The panellists were Gregory O’Brien (literature and visual arts), Sue Paterson (dance and multi-discplinary), Lynda Chanwai Earle (literature, performing arts), Rachel House (theatre, film, moving image), Brendan Smythe (music) and Nina Tonga (visual arts).

2017 Laureate Awards
Each Laureate Award includes a gift of $50,000

Niki Caro – Director, Filmmaker
Jemaine Clement – Actor, Writer, Comedian, Multi-Instrumentalist
Ross McCormack – Choreographer, Contemporary Dancer
Rob Ruha – Haka Soul Musician
Robin White – Painter, Print Maker

About the Laureate Award:
The Laureate Award is an investment in excellence across a range of art forms for an artist with prominence and outstanding potential for future growth. Each artist also receives a Terry Stringer designed bronze statuette.

2017 New Generation Awards
Each New Generation Award includes a gift of $25,000

Hera Lindsay Bird – Poet
Salina Fisher – Contemporary Classical Composer, Violinist
Tiffany Singh – Interdiscplinary Site Specific Installation Based Artist

About the Award:
New Generation artists have assured potential, their work is exciting and they show outstanding promise. Three Awards are presented annually and each artist receives a Christine Cathie designed glasswork in a different colour.

Mallinson Rendel Illustrators Award
This award includes a gift of $15,000

Donovan Bixley – Children’s Book Illustrator and Author

About the award:
The Award is presented every two years to a children’s book illustrator with published work of a high standard and includes a no-strings cash gift of $15,000 and a certificate designed by Sarah Maxey.

Marti Friedlander Photographic Award
This award includes a gift of $25,000

Roberta Thornley – Photographer

About the award:
The Award is presented every two years to an established photographer with a record of excellence and potential to continue working at high levels.

Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship
This fellowship includes a sum of $35,000 to cover expenses during the time in Menton, France

Carl Nixon – Novelist, Short Story Writer and Playwright


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s