2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement: call for nominations




Time to nominate a poet. Last year it was the fabulous Bernadette Hall.


Don’t miss your opportunity to nominate your pick of our finest writers for the 2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

Every year, New Zealanders are invited to nominate writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the categories of non-fiction, poetry or fiction. $60,000 is awarded in each genre.

New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for the awards.

The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval, with the awards presented in a formal ceremony.

In 2015, Roger Hall was awarded for Fiction; Bernadette Hall for Poetry and Dame Joan Metge for Non-Fiction.  See the full list of winners here

To nominate a writer

Nominations close on Friday, 19 May at 5pm.


Previous poets:

Bernadette Hall (2015)
Ian Wedde (2014)
Michele Leggott (2013)
Sam Hunt (2012)
Peter Bland (2011)
Cilla McQueen (2010)
Brian Turner (2009)
Elizabeth Smither (2008)
Bill Manhire (2007)
Vincent O’Sullivan (2006)
Alistair Te Ariki Campbell (2005)
Kevin Ireland (2004)
Hone Tuwhare (2003)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s