Poetry Shelf noticeboard: Nominations open for The Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement

Screen Shot 2020-05-23 at 2.11.55 PM

go here

Creative New Zealand is calling for nominations for three prestigious annual awards, each recognising the valued contributions of some of our country’s most talented artists: The Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement, Ngā Taonga Toi a Te Waka Toi (Te Waka Toi Awards), and the Arts Pasifika Awards.

“Now more than ever it is important to unite and be uplifted, taking time to recognise, celebrate and honour some of our top artists and practitioners, for their achievements via our annual awards,” says Creative New Zealand Chief Executive Stephen Wainwright.

“Given the volatility of the COVID-19 environment, we are yet to finalise exactly what each official awards event or presentation will look like. This will be worked through and shared in due course but, in the meantime, we invite New Zealanders to nominate artists they recognise as deserving of these awards.”

Anyone can make a nomination for the Ngā Taonga Toi a Te Waka Toi (Te Waka Toi Awards) and the Arts Pasifika Awards, and artists are also welcome to nominate themselves. For the Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement, New Zealand citizens, residents and organisations can make a nomination, and writers are also welcome to nominate themselves.

Those nominated must be New Zealand citizens or permanent residents, and each of the awards have further specific eligibility criteria. See our website for further information on who’s eligible, how to nominate someone and how award recipients are chosen.

Nominations need to be submitted via email by the following dates (listed in order of closing date):

Across the three different award groups, nominations will be assessed by external panels representative of the relevant community who are also registered peer assessors with expertise in the relevant artform(s). The panels’ recommendations will be forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval in late August (in the case of Te Waka Toi Awards, the Arts Council’s Komiti Māori will approve the recommended recipients).

As in previous years, we intend to hold separate events for each of the three awards later in the year, with details yet to be worked through – including aligning with Government COVID-19 alert levels at that time. So far, Ngā Taonga Toi a Te Waka Toi (Te Waka Toi Awards) has been confirmed for November and will have a strong digital element this year, with details to be confirmed closer to the time.

Waiho rā kia tū takitahi ana ngā whetū o te rangi, ka whakanuia.
Let’s wait until the stars in the sky align and then celebrate.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s