Hawke’s Bay Arts Festival: 8 Poets Laureate on Sunday

Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 9.29.09 PM.png

Poemlines: coming home

Poemlines run from Hawke’s Bay across mountain, river and sea to the Poets Laureate and their tokotoko. In October, they will lead the poets back to the Bay, to Te Mata, to Matahiwi and the Blyth Auditorium.

A not-to-be missed highlight of the Festival, this unique event will celebrate the joy of poetry with eight of the eleven Poets Laureate: Bill Manhire, Rob Tuwhare for Hone Tuwhare, Elizabeth Smither, Michele Leggott, Cilla McQueen, Ian Wedde, C.K. Stead and Selina Tusitala Marsh.

Hawke’s Bay Readers & Writers Festival congratulates Elizabeth Smither on winning the poetry category of the 2018 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards. He toi whakairo, ka ihiihi, ka wehiwehi, ka aweawe te ao katoa. Artistic excellence makes the world sit up in wonder.

Chair: Marty Smith


Screen Shot 2018-10-19 at 9.29.47 PM.png




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s