Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award entries close end of July

Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award

Kathleen GrattanAuckland poet Kathleen Grattan, a journalist and former editor of the New Zealand Woman’s Weekly, died in 1990. A member of the Titirangi Poets, her work was published in Landfall and other volumes including Premier Poets, a collection from the World Poetry Society. Her daughter Jocelyn Grattan, who also worked for the New Zealand Woman’s Weekly, shared her mother’s love of literature. She has generously left Landfall a bequest with which to establish an award in memory of Kathleen Grattan.

About the award

This biennial award is for an original collection of poems, or one long poem, by a New Zealand or Pacific permanent resident or citizen. Individual poems in the collection can have been previously published, but the collection as a whole should be unpublished. Entries are accepted until 31 July of the award year and must be either received or postmarked by this date. The result will be announced in the November issue of Landfall, and the winner will receive $10,000 and a year’s subscription to Landfall.

Entries to the 2017 Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award are now open and close on 31 July 2017.
The winner will be announced in Landfall 234, published November 2017.
The judge of the 2017 award is prize-winning New Zealand poet and fiction writer Bill Manhire. Manhire has won several New Zealand Book Awards, a number of significant fellowships, and he was the 1997/1998 New Zealand Te Mata Estate Poet Laureate. He was also honoured with the Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement in 2007.
The award will next be granted in 2019.

Conditions of entry (go here)

  • Entries will be a collection of poems or one long poem.
  • Minimum submission length is 20 pages. Formatting, font size etc is your choice.
  • Entries will be unpublished, original work. Note, it is the collection as a whole that should not have been previously published. Individual poems in the collection can have been published previously.
  • Entrants will be New Zealand or Pacific permanent residents or citizens.
  • Only one entry per person will be accepted.
  • The judging panel will assess the merits of submissions and reserves the right not to award a prize.
  • No correspondence with the judges will be entered into.
  • Landfall/Otago University Press reserves the right of first publication of the winning entry. Any other entries may be considered for publication.
  • The name and photograph of the winning writer may be used by Landfall and/or its publishers for publicity purposes.
  • No present employees of Otago University Press or present editors of Landfall are eligible to enter.

How to enter

  • Submit two hard copies of your manuscript (your name is NOT to appear on these). Your copies will not be returned.
  • Include a cover letter with your personal contact details: name, postal address, email address and telephone number.
  • Please ensure the title of the submission is on both the cover letter and on the manuscript itself.
  • Please include notes on which poems have been previously published and where in the cover letter, but NOT within the manuscript itself.

Mail entries to

The Kathleen Grattan Award
Otago University Press
PO Box 56
Dunedin 9054
New Zealand

Courier entries to

Otago University Press
Level 1
398 Cumberland St
Dunedin 9054
New Zealand

Further information

Tel 64 3 479 4155
Email landfall@otago.ac.nz

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s