Sarah Broom Poetry Award – the deadline approaches

Entries open 5 January 2016 and close 18 February 2016

Now in its third year, the Sarah Broom Poetry Prize will be announced at the Auckland Writers Festival in May 2016. Shortlisted poets will be invited to read their poetry at a dedicated poetry event at the Festival, where the winner will be announced.

In 2016 the judge for the prize will be Paul Muldoon. One of the world’s leading contemporary poets, and the author of over thirty collections, Paul was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 2003, and the T.S. Eliot Prize in 1994. A past Professor of Poetry at Oxford, he is now at Princeton University. Paul is the President of the British Poetry Society and Poetry Editor at The New Yorker. The Guardian describes Paul Muldoon as “amongst the few significant poets of our half-century” and “the most significant English-language poet born since the second world war.” His most recent collection is One Thousand Things Worth Knowing (2015).

For more information about the prize and Sarah Broom visit here.

For more information about the Auckland Writers Festival, which launches its 2016 programme on 16 March 2016, visit here.


The prize is awarded on the basis of an original collection of poems by a New Zealand resident or citizen. Entries will be accepted from 5 January 2016 until 18 February 2016. Poets are required to submit six to eight poems, of which at least five must be unpublished. The recipient of the prize will be announced in May 2016 at the Auckland Writers Festival.

Entries should be emailed to
Any queries should be emailed to

Share Button


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s